WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Images

Default Layering without breaking the bank

I am hoping to go on a weekend trip at the end of this month and I was trying to see if I could get by without buying a ton of expensive clothes. I have lightweight base layer underwear, a Montbell UL 800 fill down jacket, a light weight fleece 1/4 zip pullover and a Frogg Toggs dry ducks rain jacket in my closet right now. Also have a good beanie, gloves and extra wool socks. Can I make this work if temps get down in the low 20's?

I'm not too worried about sleeping as I have a 25 degree down bag and a silk liner. I'm also not too concerned while I will be hiking. My main worry is while I'm in camp trying to set up, take down, cook, get water etc.

If this isn't enough what one item would you recommend I add?

You'll be fine.

Your list sounds good to me. Maybe add a windbreaker to the mix.

what sort of elevation are you going to be camping in?

Images

top is fine, a warm base layer for the legs is good for camp. otherwise its hikers midnight these days around 5pm. if you intend to do a lot of cold weather camping, down pants are an excellent investment.($$$$)

Registered User Teacher & Snacktime's Avatar
    Journal Entries
    Images

I have a thin acrylic scarf that is wonderful for keeping body heat in. It's one of those really cheap, really thin type that are supposed to be strictly decorative and worn outside a dress coat. Cut it down in length and just wrap it around on the inside of your collar.....you'll keep your core warm.
    "Maybe life isn't about avoiding the bruises. Maybe it's about collecting the scars to prove we showed up for it."

Images

Quote Originally Posted by hikerboy57 View Post