WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Female hiking.....

I am very new to backpacking and the AT. Originally I wanted to hike from Harpers Ferry to Springer however because I am such a novice I am thinking that I would like to begin with Harpers Ferry to Damascus. I am from VA so it will be exciting to hike the state. I am curiouse how common it is to see female hikers backpacking alone? I am having a hard time finding someone to join me for the trip because VA is a lengthy hike! Plus I don't really want to go with experienced backpackers because I am such a beginner. I'm not sure that going alone is the right way though. Anyone have information? Thoughts? Or advice? Or want to hike the AT through VA with a beginner next year?!

Journal Entries

On a thru hike it was very evident that female hikers rarely hike alone. There is always some male hiker(s) that will hike with her, for better, middle or worse. It is mostly spans the gamut of romantic/sexual to friends to almost brother protector like, I suppose and heard a couple of cases where it went into the bad side - but rare and quickly remedied. I don't know if it is even possible for a female to do a thru hike without this happening in some form. If you are in a SoBo bubble I think you can expect that you won't hike alone and I think you could trust the trail to provide companionship.

Journal Entries

Ive encountered many female hikers hiking alone. Its not unusual.
    If you want company, you will probably find it though. Many thru hikers tend to fall into groups called "trail families" and will stay with these groups for long periods, untill they fall apart.