WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Thread: Bears!!

Default Bears!!

Whats the bear situation like in early OCT?

hummm....what do you say to that?

Yep, still bears out there. Still hungry. Yep, they still haven't caught that oneway UFO flight outta here.

Ps. on an interesting note. I remember reading a sign in the Shenandoahs back in the early 2000's that because of so much accessibility human leftovers that they no longer hibernate for any period of time. It was saying something like they may rest for a spell (a week or two) if the temperatures plummet but then they will go foraging again when the temperature rises above freezing or there abouts. I'm no bear scientist but ever since then I just expect that bears are around all the time.
    * Warning: I bite AND I do not play well with others! -hellkat-

Images

They typically only eat a couple hikers in October. Hike with two slower hikers and you should be okay.

Also, if you're worried about bears getting into your food, at camp, the method I use is load up a couple of spoonfuls of peanut butter and I wipp that over by some tenters. Then I hang my food bag on the opposite side of the shelter. This method works two-fold. First you have a decoy and second you now have a couple of camp security guards who are up all night chasing off bears. If you find the bears are only mildly attracted to your campmate's tent then you can up the ante but stirring in some clover honey to the peanut butter gobs. always works for me.
    * Warning: I bite AND I do not play well with others! -hellkat-

GSMNP 900 Miler
    Journal Entries
    Images

They are still out there... you might see one, but the odds seem to be against it... it just a hit or miss sort of thing.