WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Gorham to Andover (Roundtrip).. In Over My Head?????

Guys,
    I am planning a hiking trip next week (8/26/13) where i intend to take the bus to Gorham and Hike to Andover (resupply) and head back the way i came. I am new to hiking and will be hiking alone. I am 26 and in good shape. I keep hearing that this portion may be considered one to the hardest sections of the AT.
    Am I in over my head?
    is this safe?
    I hear the elevation gains and losses are extreme... am i going to fall down the mountain if i take a mis-step?

I'm looking for alternate route from Monson south to Rangeley, but getting there is a bit more difficult..

What do you think???? I could use some advice...

-Jordan

Images

knowing little about your experience and ability, its difficult to answer the question. If you've hiked the whites, you shouldnt have a problem. its not unsafe if you take your time, but it is difficult.short very steep sections are the norm, and even the flat sections have treacherous footing, roocks, roots and bog bridges that can be slick and slippery.
    its also one of the most rewarding sections.
    just take your time, maybe go one site to the next , and you'll have fun.

Hey Hikerboy57,
    My experience with mountains is basically none.... I live in florida! I guess i'm more concerned about the level of expertise and experience required to hike this section. Can a in-shape male do this without experience? Are injuries common? Safety is my main concern.

Thanks for replying,
    Jordan

Images

like i said. just take your time. when i did it a few years ago sobo, i took five days from grafton notch to gorha,m, probably could have done it in 3.the shelters/sites are only around 8 miles apart. without much experience in the mtns, you should plan conservative mpd.