WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Pack size for short trips (1-4 nights)

I'm an avid day hiker but new to backpacking. I have been doing research for months and am slowly acquiring gear.

I plan to start with some overnight/weekend trips and work my way up to longer trips. That being said, could I get by with a smaller pack for short trips (35-50L)? Or should I just go ahead and buy a large pack (60-65L)? I'm mainly asking because money is tight and I know smaller packs are cheaper. However, I have no idea if I'll be able to fit everything into a smaller pack. Since I've never done this before, I have no real sense of what different size packs will hold. I'm not trying to go UL, but still paying mind to overall pack weight.

Thoughts?

Peakbagger Extraordinaire The Solemates's Avatar

completely depends on the type of trip you will be undertaking and the time of year you will be going. i often take a 1500 cubic inch camelbak for a 1-4 night trip in the summer. for the same trip in the winter (defined by me as snow on ground and in the teens or below at night) I need 2500-3000 cubic inches.

Since it sounds like you are fairly new to this, I would go with a 3000 cubic inch (or so) pack. That will be versatile enough for many types of trips. 60-65 L is way overkill unless you are spending multiple nights in the bush without resupply. I spent 23 days in alaska without resupply with a 55 L pack.
    The only thing better than mountains, is mountains where you haven't been.

amongnature.blogspot.com

Images

I use a 60 liter on 3 day trips and am very good at filling it! That being said, the wisdom on here is to buy a smaller pack and force yourself to make good decisions on what you really need to take.

Images