WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Default Guitar on the trail?

Hey all!

I'm planning on doing the entire AT this upcoming march, and I am juuuuuust starting to plan everything out. Late I know, but I know I can get it all done.

The first question that I need to figure out is.....is it practical to bring some type of guitar on the trail? I'm a huge guitarist, I play every day, and I think it would be so awesome to bring one along so I can play on the trail. But i have heard from multiple people to ditch the guitar because its just too much weight. Can anyone back this up?

i don't want it to be a burden, and most people I have talked to said that I would be too tired to play, but I disagree. I'm sure if there is any free time on the trail, I will bust it out and jam In the wilderness. I am also thinking about buying a cheap plastic kids guitar or an acoustic travel guitar, which is much smaller in size. Hopefully that would help out a lot.

A
    what do you guys think? I honestly don't think there is ANY way I'm not bring some type of guitar, I just wanted to see if anyone else has seen anyone bring one along, and if so, did they usually have some time to play it pretty extensively?

thanks!

popnfrsh

Images

its a burden but its great to have along.i didnt bring mine, but i met a guy on the bus to medway shelter stu who told me he played. met him on the trail a few days later and he was sitting around playing a beautiful taylor acoustic.let me play it for a while. few days later hooked up with some sobos ,mandela and terranauta, who had a small backpacker guitar. not as much fun as playing the taylor, but still cool. keeping it dry is the biggest issue, along with the extra weight. i love to play, but dont think i would ever pack one.