WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Images

Default Hammock hangers-Staying warm in late fall through early spring?...

I am new to hanging, I went for an overnight hike a couple weeks ago down here in Georgia on the AT.

Sleeping system
    Grand Trunk Ultra Light hammock
    Big Agnes Inulated Air Core mummy
    Marmont 40 degree ultra light down bag
    Sea to summit Thermolite Reactor Sleeping bag liner
    Eno Pro Rain Fly

The temp dropped to about 40 but the wind was blowing around 5-10MPH. Around midnight I started to get a chill and most of the night my feet stayed cold. I put on 2 pair of wool socks. polyster thermal pants, a top, a light weight fleece top and a down vest. I also had my gloves on and my beenie hat.

I stayed overall warm and toastie except for my feet.

Any advice on how to keep my feet warm? Should I get a colder sleeping bag, an underquilt and dump the big agnes air pad?

Any help would be much appreciated. I like having my pad in case there are no trees and it adds comfort in the hammock.

Would a space blanket thingy help if I put that under the hammock?

What if I wrapped the rain fly ends down near my feet touching each end to keep any wind from getting in?

My butt stayed warm, my upper body was warm, my face was cold but I put my camp towel over it. I would have slept like a baby if my feet were toasty.

Any help? Im guessing with teh wind the temps felt much closer to low 30s.

You're not going to live forever
    Find this to be true
    Use your past as a guide
    While you're alive
    Live