WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
    Journal Entries
    Images

Default Too hot to hike!!

What is to hot to hike? I was sitting here thinking its going to be in the upper 90*- 104* on my hike coming up on the 4th july,2012(Springer to neels gap.) I work as a pipefitter so im in the heat everyday, there is a differnce being in the heat working vs hiking/backpacking so I was wondering when does a person just say NO to hiking.HS
    Last edited by hikingshoes; 06-29-2012 at 13:30.

Suppose to hit 105 today in the Piedmont and the mid-90's in the NC mountains.

Too hot for even a bathing suit!!

Not that I don't love my Florida trails.....but, I'd rather be in the mountains at 100 than in the swamp.

I do more biking in the heat, not bad as long as I'm moving and making my own breeze.
    The trouble I have with campfires are the folks that carry a bottle in one hand and a Bible in the other.
    You never know which one is talking.

Quote Originally Posted by hikingshoes View Post
    What is to hot to hike? I was sitting here thinking its going to be in the upper 90*- 104* on my hike coming up on the 4th july,2012(Springer to neels gap.) I work as a pipefitter so im in the heat everyday, there is a differnce being in the heat working vs hiking/backpacking so I was wondering when does a person just say NO to hiking.HS
    I to am a Pipefitter,and have drug-up many a job to go hiking/fishing/bar,hehehe,but with hiking you don't have to wear your leathers,and the woods are always prettier than a tank farm and cooler than boiler rooom.take care brother!

I think it also is important to assess how much shade you may have in general. There just isn't that much shade out here in the desert and virtually no water to cool off in, so yes - anything even near 100 is "too hot."