WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Late Lunch

Default Stove Loudness: How big of an issue at shelters?

I've narrowed my stove choices down to 2: the Optimus Svea 123R or the MSR Whisperlite.

One of my criteria in choosing a stove is how loud it is, and I'm guessing most people aren't expecting their hiking experiences to include jet engine noise. I know the Whispterlite is quiet-ish, more of a hiss than an industrial roar, and the Svea is between "quiet dishwasher" and "stove exhaust fan" on loudness, but, bear in mind, this is my Personal Loudness Scale and Registration Department rating. I'm a part-time guitar tech who has gone to practice and balanced amp volume sans earplugs, and someone who routinely works around lawn mowers and weedeaters in the summer season, so I might be a bit off in my judgement of noise levels.

How big of an issue are loud stoves at shelters? Say the Svea, for example. Would that stove be considered "too loud" by enough people to warrant banishment? It's not a big issue, because I can always bring the Whisperlite, I just don't want to be "that dillweed with the loud stove".

I've considered alcohol stoves, but they don't quite work for me, because I'm lazy.

I guess it depends if you just boiling water for dehydrated meals and tea or if you are scrambling eggs or something. If just boiling water the noise shouldnt be an issue since it takes only a minute or two.

Welcome

So your first post is about choosing a stove that would allow you to be the most considerate of people you might share a shelter with?

Outstanding!

It is unlikely that the stove will be burning long enough to get obnoxious, maybe that first cup of coffee...

I couldn't care less what noise level of stove people are using. They usually are only on for 5 min anyway and are not being used (mostly) at bed time.