WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Thread: Maryland AT

Default Maryland AT

Trying to plan a 3-5 day hike of the AT. It will be my first overnight hike, and my first experience on the AT. I believe we have decided on the Maryland section for many reasons...i hear its fairly easy terrain, I live 2.5 hours from both Harpers Ferry and Pen Mar, I only have 5 days, etc. I hear that this the best section for noobs like us!
    My question is, should we do it NOBO or SOBO? Hoping some of you vets can help me make this decision. (of course ANY help/info on this section would be welcomed)!!!

I have been doing 5-10 mile hikes 6 days a week for the past 2 months. Its time to take the next logical step! Thanks for your help!

Images

Did this section in April starting at PenMar Park. I'd go southbound to Harpers Ferry.
    The hike to Annapolis Rocks is quite rocky in spots so be careful especially if rocks are wet.

The 40 miles can be done in 3 days easily , 4 days if you're not in any hurry .

The flat crushed gravel of the C&O Canal walk into Harpers Ferry will afford you with a "cool down" lap heading into Harpers Ferry .

Reward yourself with a cold beverage at the Secret Six Tavern .
    Getting lost is a way to find yourself.