WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Images

Default Long Underwear recomendations

I'm looking for recomendations for a set of long underwear. I will be leaving 4/11 from Springer and sleeping in a hammock. I've no doubt I will experience at least a few really cold nights and need some decent long johns to keep me warm. They will be worn around camp under a pair of lightweight nylon pants and a fleece jacket. I don't have any experience with spring weather in the south. It seems everyone uses patagonia capilene. Which would you recomend the capilene 1, 2, or 3? What would you recomend as a less expensive option? I'd prefer not to spend $80 or more on long underwear for the trail. Thanks!
    Mobilis in Mobili

Check into Terramar products from campmor, I use them, I have the lighweight and medium weight.
    Don't Die Before You've Had A Chance To Live!

Images

Quote Originally Posted by HiKen2011 View Post
    Check into Terramar products from campmor, I use them, I have the lighweight and medium weight.
    I've been considering the Terramar silk long underwear for my sleeping gear. How warm are these compared to med weight normal long underwear. They would save me about a half a # for $40...
    -milkman

got soul?

I have Terramar long underwear and like them, but I don't think they're the silk version.

I like my Terramar silk bottoms for cool to mild weather, weigh in at 3 oz and keeps all the funk off my sleeping bag or quilts.

I only bring cheap long underwear so I can't help you there but you need to be more concerned with the quilt or underquilt you are bringing for your hammock.