Resist the common.

Default How to choose campsite

It is my first time hiking long distance on the AT. I am 57 yrs old and plan to start SLOW. So when you don't make it to the shelter for the night and need to camp you are supposed to go 100 feet off the trail, correct? Any tips as to how to choose the right site with all the critters that live in the woods?

Virginia Tortoise

Welcome to whiteblaze.net. I too am a slow hiker and have failed to make the shelter many times. It's best to camp off the trail but sometimes, if you can't find anything else, you have to camp in some strange places. Just try to heed the local rules (no camping above treeline between shelters in MD) and you should be OK.

First, realize that you are now one of those critters that live in the woods. Exciting isn't it?

Try to get far enough into the woods so that no one notices you camping. Be aware of where you are in relation to where is the trail! Choose a flat sight. Not in a depression that might find you sleeping in a pond if it should rain hard. Don't sleep under or next to standing dead trees. If you are cooking be mindful of the location of water sources or plan on carrying water to your dry campsite from a water source. If critters are a concern they are largely attracted by scents. Bring about 40 ft of light wt cord to hang your food and other scented items(toothpaste, soap, cookware, etc).

AT 4000+, LT, FHT, ALT Blissful's Avatar
    Journal Entries
    Images

You're gonna have critters no matter where you camp. Just keep a clean camp and I always bear bag it, incl my toothpaste. Where are you going? A thru hike? There are places with hard rules and other places with lots of established campsites to choose from (like in GA and NC).

Hiking Blog
    AT NOBO and SOBO, LT, FHT, ALT
    Shenandoah NP Ridgerunner, Author, Speaker

Quote Originally Posted by srbrunson View Post