WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default how to properly pack a back pack?

I'm fairly new to back packing and i've heard different reasonings for packing packs different ways. i was wondering what you find works the best for example heavy stuff towards your body in middle, light stuff in the bottom etc. All advise is welcome thanks! happy hiking
    "Everywhere is walking distance if you have the time".

Images

I dont know if you have a gear list written up but if you do, it could hep us evaluate how to pack it. Utlralight, Lightweight, and Heavy packs all look different on the inside so what is your approximate bass weight? also here is osprey advice on packing: http://www.ospreypacks.com/PackTech/HowtoPackYourPack

-butts-

Images

my base weight is about 13-15 lbs, depending on season and companions. i tend to put my sleeping bag, underquilt, and extra clothes on the bottom, food in the middle, tarp and cook set on top, all for ease of access. all the other odds and ends go in the outside pocket. water goes in side pockets.
    Take a course in good water and air; and in the eternal youth of Nature you may renew your own. Go quietly, alone; no harm will befall you. John Muir

Images

I tend to pack similar to Seaker only with my tarp in an outside mesh pocket and I use a heavy duty garbage bag as a pack liner (all my dry gear inside the garbage bag) because if I am hiking it will rain.
    WalkingStick"75"

Mine is similar. Sleeping stuff in first, then food bag, then some clothing and a clear plastic ziploc box of miscellaneous stuff that keeps the shape of the top of my pack rectangular. Nothing specific in my outside pocket or my clothing pockets. It isn't so much weight management as organizational.

Quote Originally Posted by butts0989 View Post