WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Campmor 20 degree down mummy sleeping bag stuff sack

For those of you that own this bag: do you use the stuff sack that came with it? I just got it and it seems kind of small. I don't want to permanently affect the loft of the bag. I don't assume it's waterproof so I wouldn't use it without a pack liner.

Virginia Tortoise

I got a 20 degree EMS Boreal mummy bag last summer and the stuff sack for it was very tight and cheap. I think that they are doing this on purpose so that you will buy a high profit compression sack to go along with it.

Garlic
    Images

I used to own that sleeping bag and I never put it in the stuff sack. That was a packing preference, not as much fear of damaging the down.
    "Throw a loaf of bread and a pound of tea in an old sack and jump over the back fence." John Muir on expedition planning

AT 4000+, LT, FHT, ALT Blissful's Avatar
    Journal Entries
    Images

I see no reason you cant use the stuff sack. I mean it does compress it for the hike, but you take it out when you get to camp and it fluffs out. Just never store it compressed. I lay mine out on the guest bed for now to store it. (my Montell hugger)

Hiking Blog
    AT NOBO and SOBO, LT, FHT, ALT
    Shenandoah NP Ridgerunner, Author, Speaker

Hike smarter, not harder.

I don't use a stuff sack. I just put my sleeping bag in the bottom of my pack, and then put everything in on top of it.
    Con men understand that their job is not to use facts to convince skeptics but to use words to help the gullible to believe what they want to believe - Thomas Sowell