WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default what do you think about NF cat's meow?

I wonder if anyone has any opnions to share with me about this bag? If you own it, how cold did you take it? When were you cold in it? What were you wearing at that temp? Was it too warm for you? at what temp?

Thanks in advance for your help!

I own this bag and it has served me well. I have had it down to somewhere in 15F to 20F range with nasty winds. I was also using a OR Aurora Bivy and some GI Polypros, I was comfortable.

I have taken one down to about 32. I borowed a family member's. Comfortable. Just wore boxers. and shirt. Too warm/heavy for summer use, if through hiking, in my opioion. But not sure about summer in New England. I have no experience there. Good bag for wet weather. Great when damp. Built to last.

Images

I'm not much of a fan of most North Face products, but the Cat's Meow is a big exception. It is an excellent three-season bag, relatively lightweight and nicely compressible for a synthetic fill. If you're not going with down, the Cat's Meow is an excellent option until at least central Virginia.
    If people spent less time being offended and more time actually living, we'd all be a whole lot happier!

Images

My son used one for years until dad showed him MontBell & Western Mountaineering quality.

Personally, I think TNF overrates their bags; meaning you will be cold before you ever see the rated temperature.
    The trail was here before we arrived, and it will still be here when we are gone...enjoy it now, and preserve it for others that come after us