WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Images

Default Osprey Atmos 50 or 65 for thru hike?

Thanks for all the responses. My question is concerning the Osprey Atmos backpacks for an AT thru hike. I am asking for advice on the pro's and con's of each? Thanks for all your help.

Images

Use the smallest pack that will fit your gear, food, & clothes.
    The trail was here before we arrived, and it will still be here when we are gone...enjoy it now, and preserve it for others that come after us

I am a big fan of the Osprey Backpacks.......I've been using the Aether-60 for several years and it continues to serve me well. If you are going to attempt a thru-hike starting in March or April then the Atmos-50 should be large enough for all of your gear. If you plan to start in January or February, which would require a bit more gear, then the 65 might be the way to go. I recently finished a long stretch from Hanover, NH to Waynesboro, VA and the Aether-60 held all the extra gear I needed for the colder weather. Good luck on your hike.

Go with the bigger one. Trying to cram everything into a pack that just barely fits sucks.

Looking at the new models the Atmos 50 and 65 are virtually the same pack except for the volume. Your call on which one to get. Osprey packs are super comfortable and I don't think you can go wrong either way.

The only con is the hipbelt mesh pockets. They are fragile and invariably get shredded. I wish Osprey would switch to a solid sil-nylon type pocket.

Section Hiking Knucklehead Hooch's Avatar
    Images

Quote Originally Posted by Spokes View Post
    The only con is the hipbelt mesh pockets. They are fragile and invariably get shredded. I wish Osprey would switch to a solid sil-nylon type pocket.