WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default How to carry camera equipment with you?

Hi there,

I'm planning hiking the entire trail starting in March or April 2010 from Georgia.

I was curious if any other photographers had advice on how to carry equipment with them? I would not feel comfortable shipping it to myself along the way, I'd much rather have it on me, but the weather is an obvious concern.

I'm an amateur, this is just a hobby, so I don't have a lot of stuff, just two lenses at the moment and I may collect a couple more before I go.

Anyways, has anyone hiked the entire way with their equipment? What did you use to carry it in?

Thanks!

a small weather resistant digital is the standard. stays in any pocket or bag.
    matthewski

a small weather resistant digital is the standard. stays in any pocket or bag. even interchangeing lenses could be kept in paper towels and a ziplock . i dont see the need for any special cases. their are safe dry places in packs.
    matthewski

Quote Originally Posted by Sequoia View Post
    I'm an amateur, this is just a hobby, so I don't have a lot of stuff, just two lenses at the moment and I may collect a couple more before I go.
    I'm an amateur photog that sometimes takes 15 pounds on equipment on trips. For a thru I would take ONE simple lightweight camera. There are tons of em out there. I wouldn't take multiple lenses. I would have a simple freezer bag for wet conditions.

Others have made the point that a great number of your pics are going to be of the folks you meet. For most a thru is not a photography trip.
    Fear ridges that are depicted as flat lines on a profile map.