WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Cool Towns

Default Cool Towns

Hi - I'm new to WB and currently planning a thru-hike for March 2010. I'm trying to plan "town days" ie Neels Gap, Fontana Dam, Newfound Gap. I'm figuring town layovers every 5 or 6 days and any tips as to "good places" to stop or "places to avoid" would be greatly appreciated. I would also like to connect with anyone planning a hike next year...

All towns suck. They're like shelters, except w/ more of them, w/ greedy business owners and dogs.

Crocatoeahh on the trail mlkelley's Avatar

I found Hot Springs to be a cool little town.

Garlic
    Images

None of those places you listed are really town stops. Neels Gap has a small store and hostel, Fontana is a resort village I didn't go to, and Newfound Gap is good place to avoid going to Gatlinburg.

The real trail towns, the ones right on the trail, can be great fun if you're in the mood, like Hot Springs, Damascus, etc, and if you have money. Try not to pass up Franklin, NC (off trail but worth the hitch) and avail yourself of Ron Haven's hospitality. The New England towns (Kent, Salisbury) can get pretty expensive, especially if you get up there during fall leaf season.
    "Throw a loaf of bread and a pound of tea in an old sack and jump over the back fence." John Muir on expedition planning

GA-ME-04
    Images

Personally, I would skip Kent due to the high prices and excessive snobbery.
    This is just my opinion and observation.

Images

Manchester Center, VT is not your typical trail town, but it has everything a hiker needs: Laundramat, 2 outfitters, movie theater, pizza shops, bookstore, groceries for long term resupply and hostel!!!

Journal Entries
    Images

Nrvana