WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default First Timer - Need mileage advice

Hello - This is my first post. I have recently set a personal goal to complete the Appalachian Trail in sections over the next two years. As a teacher at an independent school, I have quite a few long vacations throughout the year which I intend to use to accomplish this goal. I am actively training to get myself into shape to undertake this task (regular gym time, day hikes, etc.). The first section that I plan to undertake is from the CT/NY border to the MA/VT border. My question is how much time I allot for this hike. I am a complete novice in terms of daily mileage, etc. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I am 29 and in good physical condition if that helps determine how many miles I can cover per day.

Thanks and I look forward to meeting some new friends here!

Quote Originally Posted by jaxalope View Post
    Hello - This is my first post. I have recently set a personal goal to complete the Appalachian Trail in sections over the next two years. As a teacher at an independent school, I have quite a few long vacations throughout the year which I intend to use to accomplish this goal. I am actively training to get myself into shape to undertake this task (regular gym time, day hikes, etc.). The first section that I plan to undertake is from the CT/NY border to the MA/VT border. My question is how much time I allot for this hike. I am a complete novice in terms of daily mileage, etc. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I am 29 and in good physical condition if that helps determine how many miles I can cover per day.

Thanks and I look forward to meeting some new friends here!
    Welcome to WB and I hope you find lots of good info.