WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Images

Question quick ? about hammocks...

i'm not too experienced with hammocks, so i ask this out of ignorance...i like to cowboy if i'm not gonna set up my tent because of weather, so my question is: does a hammock "set" provide something that i can use to lay on? is there a rain fly that detaches or is it all one part? could i use my hammock as ground cloth?

thanks...

Hammock material is usually not waterproof, so it doesn't do well as a groundsheet. You could use the tarp, but if you get holes in it it won't work very well for overhead duty. Most hammocks have tarps which are detachable. I don't know of one major brand which has a tarp permanently attached. If you want to cowboy and you are carrying a hammock, you could use a closed cell foam pad right on the ground, or you could carry a small piece of Tyvek or plastic. The "extra" groundsheet you carry makes a very nice "floor mat" for your hammock, enabling you to brush off your feet before putting them into your sleeping bag.
    As I live, declares the Lord God, I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather that the wicked turn back from his way and live. Ezekiel 33:11

Images

I carry a Gossamer Gear groundsheet. It's really light, and multipurpose. Works well for cowboy camping.
    Ken B
    'Big Cranky'
    Our Long Trail journal

aka Kudzu
    Images

I just picked up a JRB WeatherShield. Guess you can use that as a groundcover.

Do you like to cowboy camp because you like to look up at the sky or because you like to sleep on the earth?

If you like to look up at the sky, you can leave your tarp off, but some hammocks have bug nets that don't detach.

If you just want to sleep on the ground for some reason, some hammock setups incorporate a sleeping pad. Generally the pads are 3/4 pads or so and you could use that.