WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default ATC takes official stand on bear canisters

https://appalachiantrail.org/news/at...ge-containers/

Not sure how many will listen; I still see folks thinking the ATC should provide bear cables/boxes everywhere, while others insist they can successfully hang their food or that they're fine keeping their food in their tent.

I've been carrying a canister on the AT for several years now; the added weight is more than balanced by my not worrying about doing a hang, etc. And, it doubles as a seat!

Journal Entries
    Images

Exclamation The link in the post above

Does NOT take you to ATC, but to a URL with 'CUE'. I don't think this was a deliberate deception.

Here's a link that takes you to the ATC:

Some days, it's not worth chewing through the restraints.

I think it's inevitable. I use a canister most of the time, or an Ursack in less-travelled parts. A canister increases my base weight by a bit more than a day's worth of food. Just saw that they have new sizes, too, and Christmas is coming!

The Interagency Grizzly Bear Committee list has, for some reason, not included the Wild Ideas Bearikade products. Perhaps because those canisters have only proven effective against black bears. Of course, there are no grizzlies on the AT, so I see no reason to not use the bearikade even if the AT is using the IGBC list in their press release. Which I assume is fine since these are recommendations, not government mandates.

Quote Originally Posted by GoldenBear View Post
    Does NOT take you to ATC, but to a URL with 'CUE'. I don't think this was a deliberate deception.

Here's a link that takes you to the ATC:
    I fixed it. Both links go to the same place now.
    "Sleepy alligator in the noonday sun
    Sleepin by the river just like he usually done
    Call for his whisky