WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Best parts of the trail in New England for 2-3 nights with kids?

Hi! I'm completely new to the Appalachian, I'm Italian and I'd like to do a short part of the trail, 2-3 nights, with my kids (9 and 11). I'm looking for suggestions about the "best" trail sections in Maine/New Hampshire/Vermont/Connecticut. With best I mean not too difficult (the kids are quite good hikers, but...) and in which it will be easy (or not so difficult) to come back to the starting point and reach the car.
    Thanks!
    Dario

Journal Entries

In addition to the Appalachian Trail (AT) there are a great many other equally good backpacking trails within the region that interests you. Some of those intersect the AT. And, if you are flexible you may be able to develop an itinerary that makes a loop, rather than simply going "out and then back to the car" along the same route.

What does "best" mean for you? For some people that means having the most above tree line scenic views. For others "best" can mean seeing the most ponds, lakes, or scenic water falls, or simply getting out into part of the forest where one encounters few other people.

Journal Entries

ariorana--With more information about yourself, and any previous backcountry hiking with overnight stays that you and.or your kids may have had, posters here will be able to better help you.