WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Images

Default Any Experience With the Packa?

Hi Whiteblazers,

I am thinking about getting a Packa for rain protection, but am wondering if anyone else on Whiteblaze has any experience with this rain gear that they can share. The combination of pack cover and raincoat looks ideal, but I am wondering about durability, waterproofing, and whether the bottom of the Packa gets in the way while hiking.

I have been sectioning the AT for about fifteen years, generally hiking for a week each Spring or Summer, and have used Frog Toggs jackets (which aren’t very durable), non-breathable jackets (which leave me soaking in sweat), and nothing (which leaves me rain soaked but not sweaty).

This year, I am hiking the last 680 miles of the trail in one shot, and I think the Packa might be a good piece of gear to have. I’d appreciate any feedback about other hikers’ experience with this product.

Thanks.
    Formerly uhfox

Springer to Bear Mountain Inn, NY
    N Adams, MA to Clarendon VT
    Franconia Notch to Crawford Notch

I purchased after my 2018 Thru Hike and Love it. Never hike without it, even if I just use it as a pack cover. Here is a Video when I first unboxed it. https://youtu.be/2xRx-og2MY8
    "gbolt" on the Trail

I am Third

We are here to help one another along life's journey. Keep the Faith!

YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCik...NPHW7vu3vhRBGA

I love mine. Got it several years ago. Very durable and love the huge pit vents.

I have had one since 2017. Love it, Mine does have a few small rips from bushwacking but I just put a small piece of ducktape on the rip and go on. Also like the huge pit vents,