Images

Default Thinking about a section of the FL trail soon....

... either in mid-December or mid January.

I would like to do about a 2-week+ section, starting at western terminus, Ft. Pickens, and hiking as far as I can to the east.

2 questions:

Is this a decent part of the trail in terms of a lot of things, coolness, good trail, not TOO much road walking, some remoteness, etc?

Is this a good time to do this? Any preferences for mid January vs. mid December? Probably not too much difference, a bit more daylight in January.

I have zero experience hiking in Florida, so any info appreciated.

If your choice doesn’t pan out, I would suggest the Ocean to Lake hike - 63 miles total
    This hike is a great primer for the FL trail. You hike through many varied environments and landscapes.

Hey Rob check out Jupiters' Ocean To Lake Tr connecting with the FT suggestions. A humper state high pointer like yourself with the better half it should be a romp.

Quote Originally Posted by Mogster View Post
    If your choice doesn’t pan out, I would suggest the Ocean to Lake hike - 63 miles total
    This hike is a great primer for the FL trail. You hike through many varied environments and landscapes.
    As Jupiter said. And he said he's done it 12 or so times.

Images

Thanks guys.... I have Jupiter's site up now, a lollipop that includes the Ocean to lake plus a stroll around lake Okeechobee might be cool. Again, thanks.

If you decide to piece together a few sections def do Rodman to Clearwater lake...75ish miles. I plan to do this section again this winter with my flea bags...Only a few hour drive to O2L and definitely more scenic than a levy walk around lake O....I’d recommend late Jan after deer season over as Bubba’s flood some parts....wear orange. Another few days on the Suwannee is a fun area also..I’ve paddled it many times, not hiked. Two years ago it hit nearly 20* in the ONF, froze my arse off!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Images