WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default How worth it is a sleeping pad? [solved]

This has been sufficiently answered but you may still reply if you want.

I've seen a lot of emphasis on sleeping pads and how important they are for warmth and comfort, but i've never used them. I've camped in hot and cold, wet weather without them, and for an unfortunate winter had to sleep on a cement floor with only a blanket.
    That all said, I don't quite see myself needing one, but I am also new to Thru-Hiking and I am completely open to hearing other opinions and perspectives.

Thanks for reading
    Last edited by wanderlyst; 07-19-2019 at 09:09.

Consider your ability to sleep on any surface a blessing of sorts.

Basically, you could get away with using a 2-3 oz ccf pad while others are toting around 16oz + sleeping pads to be comofortable.

Quote Originally Posted by wanderlyst View Post
    I've seen a lot of emphasis on sleeping pads and how important they are for warmth and comfort, but i've never used them. I've camped in hot and cold, wet weather without them, and for an unfortunate winter had to sleep on a cement floor with only a blanket.
    That all said, I don't quite see myself needing one, but I am also new to Thru-Hiking and I am completely open to hearing other opinions and perspectives.

Thanks for reading
    you will want a pad
    in cold weather it's ESSENTIAL

What do your mother and father think? Have you asked them?

Welcome to white blaze!

Images

the ground will suck the heat out of you....

it's a form of insulation from that...

so, unless you like to sleep cold, then it's pretty much essential..

its the same as sleeping on a non heated water bed.....

plus, its more comfortable than sleeping directly on ground....