WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default The Love and Hate of White Blaze

I am a self proclaimed professional thru-lurker. I started following this site years ago around the time Inchworm went missing and I followed the thread daily. I never had anything useful to say so I didn't. What I did take away from it all is that there seems to be some really good people on this site. The sincerity I felt in reading some of the comments was humbling. Even with all of that I never made a comment. I joined the site in 2015 and would look at it from time to time. So a few months ago I started coming here again and its nice to see familiar "faces". But what really got me motivated to speak was a horrible series of comments about the Second Chance guy. Wow, I really hate to see that level of hate here. On one hand everyone pulls together about Inchworm and now Ronald and then to have some one get really hateful of Cory is not what its about. This is the one place I can come to get away from the problems of the world and listen to good advice and read good conversations about backpacking and everything that goes with it. We are all here because of a love of backpacking, making our packs lighter, spending more money on gear and arguing about what is the lightest shoe laces I can get. Love to most everyone here. If you are ever in Florida look me up. Winter is never coming here.

Images

SlowDive, there are bad eggs everywhere. Fortunately, there are plenty of good eggs on Whiteblaze to make up for it. I don't know what made the poster you referred to such a miserable person, but let's hope they get the help they need. Till then, I find the best thing to do with trolls is ignore them.

Happy trails to you.
    “For of all sad words of tongue or pen,
    the saddest are these, 'It might have been.”

John Greenleaf Whittier