WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default First 100 mile plan

Hi all
    I’m new to WB and searched this question to no avail. Maybe I just searched incorrectly or the question is just too ridiculous to ask, but hereit goes
    I’m doing a NOBO thru hike at 65 years old. I was wondering-if some of the experienced “ senior” hikers could share what they actually did on the first 100 miles of the AT. I’m starting at Springer ( pics w family etc) on March 29 th ( my birthday ).
    Daily mileage ( and hours walked)
    Camping sites
    Re-supply places
    Zero or Nero day (s)
    Weather issues, temps etc
    I would like to make myself a loose plan for the first 100 and figure things will fall into place after that
    Appreciate your thoughts
    Kevin ( no train name yet)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Welcome Kevin!
    I am not a senior hiker, but there are a lot here

My non senior hiking advice would be to start the trail with no plans. I would suggest getting the Guthooks app, it will show you all waypoints from resupply to water sources and camp sites, road crossings and shelters. If you start March 21st there will be plenty of other thru hikers to start with and plans can evolve as the days go by.

As the days go by, walk until you are tired, not to an expected destination. If your body only says 8 miles for the day, only do 8. The longer you stay on the trail, the further your body will allow you to go in a day.

Good luck on your hike and keep an open schedule, it will lead to less disappointment.
    Last edited by Gambit McCrae; 12-19-2018 at 10:21.
    Trail Miles: 4,927.6
    AT Map 1: Complete 2013-2021
    Sheltowee Trace: Complete 2020-2023
    Pinhoti Trail: Complete 2023-2024
    Foothills Trail: 0.0
    AT Map 2: 279.4
    BMT: 52.7
    CDT: 85.4