WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Journal Entries

Default Since I can't take any NSAIDS anymore...

And I have some knee arthritis, and old lady pains, though nothing very severe, what is a good alternative for inflammation? I am a part-time Pharmacy Technician, so I asked my pharmacist what he thought and he said alot of people take Glucosamine Condroitin (sp?) and have had good results with that. I will probably give that a try, but wanted to ask the masses here, where there are undoubtably several people who take something alternative to INSAIDs for their aches and pains what works for them, since the aches and pains are mostly related to my hiking addiction. I have also heard someone say to take Collagen and that helps. Anyone here ever heard of that or used it successfully? Ibuprofen was my go-to but I can't take that anymore. Is there anything comparable in your experience?

Yes, I could go to my doctor and pay a co-pay and take time off work for the visit just to be given advice of what over the counter supplement to get, but that seemed ridiculous.
    " Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. "

The scientific evidence for glucosamine and chondroitin appears to be weak:

https://sciencebasedmedicine.org/glucosamine-update/

same for collagen:

https://sciencebasedmedicine.org/col...or-joint-pain/

In addition to the likelihood of being ineffective for your condition, they may have side effects (beyond their cost), so the "what's the harm in trying" argument doesn't hold water.

I'm not sure where that leaves you, if you can't take NSAIDs (or is it just ibubrofen? There's other NSAIDs, like naproxen sodium). Acetaminophen (e.g., Tylenol) is decent for pain, but it's not anti-inflammatory. Then there's the steroidal anti-inflammatories, for which you'd likely need a doctor's prescription.