WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Sawyer Mini Threading Issues

I bought a 2 pack of sawyer mini's for $27. Got on the trail this weekend and it would not thread onto my Smart Water bottle. Threads were different. I have been using the Mini on a smart water bottle for 2 years now.

Did Sawyer change their threads?
    Do they make different thread type filters?
    Trail Miles: 4,927.6
    AT Map 1: Complete 2013-2021
    Sheltowee Trace: Complete 2020-2023
    Pinhoti Trail: Complete 2023-2024
    Foothills Trail: 0.0
    AT Map 2: 279.4
    BMT: 52.7
    CDT: 85.4

My recollection was that the threads were different, but similar enough to make it work. Those memories are from 4 years ago - I may have misremembered.

Quote Originally Posted by Gambit McCrae View Post
    I have been using the Mini on a smart water bottle for 2 years now.

Did Sawyer change their threads?
    Could it have been SmartWater that changed their threads?

I've tested my mini on 1L and ~0.6L "Clear American" bottles from Walmart, and it fits fine. [It's basically a clear diet soda that comes in many flavors]. But my mini is not very new, so they could have changed it. Anyway, the one thing I didn't like about using them on a bottle (whether SmartWater or WM's soda bottles) is that the bottle collapses as you drink from it. There needs to be a way to equalize the air pressure after each sip, and so I had to unscrew it each time to let air back in and the bottle pop back into shape.

As a result, I find that the mini is better suited to being attached to filtering bags like Sawyer's own pouches or, with the right adapter, a cheap 2L hydration bladder as a dirty water bag in a gravity system. Both bags are soft-sided, so they easily collapse as they empty, unlike a plastic water bottle.

WM Clear Am Water sm.jpg