WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default How many pairs of boots

Have you tried - worn on the trail(s) - walked in for over 100 miles and then went to another type.

I had one pair of boots - which my feet out grew - size 11 I used for about 20 plus years even had the soles replaced.

Then feet spread out a bit to size 12 1/2. got new boots.
    That are not working out and now onto my next pair.

First, I'd hope that it didn't take 100 miles to decide that a pair of boots was wrong.
    Second, I'm to old to remember all (or even most) of my boots.
    Third, Since, except for technical stuff, I've been wearing trail runners or walking shoes for the last, geez, 30 years? I've been through a lot.
    Fourth, I think the last pair(s) of hiking boots I owned were some Vasques. I think I went through two or maybe even three pairs of those in 1989 or 90 and they are the last hiking boots I've every owned.
    Fifth, Sadly, I don't think I've worn out more than three pairs of hiking shoes in any one season since then. Marriage, kids, careers, they all seem to take away from being able to wear out lots of shoes.
    Sixth, as for spreading feet . . . I graduated highschool with size 12.5 feet. I graduated college with size 13 feet. I finished grad school with size 14 feet. Now my feet are size 15. The concept of feet not growing after a certain age is not, I believe, a very valid assumption. And no, one cannot attribute all of my foot elongation to collapsing of the arch(s), some yes, but not nearly all.
    I'm not lost. I'm exploring.