WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: MD AT in 36 hrs

Default MD AT in 36 hrs

Hello, After watching these awesome ultra runners I want to try a lighter version for myself. My plan is to go from PenMar to Harpers Ferry in 36 hours. Beings this is my first time trying this. What do you more seasoned Speed hikers recommend having on you food and gear wise? Thanks for the help!!!

The Maryland section is ~40 miles. It's also one of the easiest sections of the AT. I think you would find it more enjoyable to hike it in a day, rather than plan on an overnight. Carry a small day pack, start early, and crank it out. You're local, so have someone on standby to pick you up if you are having difficulty making the miles. I'd certainly enjoy hiking it in a day a lot more than carrying a pack with overnight gear.

Journal Entries

Many thru-hikers do it as a 24 hour challenge

It's not a bad day hike, you're just on your feet for quite a while. Plan on simple, reasonably healthy food that doesn't require prep, and that you can eat on the go. Some liquid calories like gatorade or equivalent can be a good alternative when you don't want to eat or just want a break from plain water. Have a plan for quickly treating water. My preference is premixed Aquamira, but a Sawyer or similar works well. Just start early and don't take long breaks. It's more about maintaining forward progress than moving pace.

It's also called the "4-State" challenge. Get up at 1 AM in HF, WF. Don headlight and walk back to the VA/WV line. Take a time/date selfy. Hike back to grab your pack, hike into MD, take photo. Hike all day and into the night and reach the MD/PA line.....take selfy.....make a camp and hope your legs stop "hiking" as you sleep.
    You will have walked in 4 states, in a 24 hour day.