WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Sleeping pad durability

I'm sure this has been talk about already, but if we only talked about new topics there would be nothing left to talk about.

As a side sleeper I like the thickness of the blowup pads. I like the weight of them too. I am also extremely careful with my gear but I seem to sleep on a flat pad more than a inflated one. Any recommendations for a light reliable blowup pad?

Memo Tensor or Neoair xlite.

Nemo not Memo.

Images

Huh, I've been using a Neoair or the Exped UL double pad for several years and never had a leak or other problem. Before that a Prolite 4 for ten years. Am I just incredibly lucky? I don't use a ground sheet, just the cuben floor of my tent. Or a very light plastic sheet inside a shelter.
    Ken B
    'Big Cranky'
    Our Long Trail journal

Journal Entries

Its not the pad
    Its you

I've witnessed a lot of people abusing inflatable pads, and wonder why the failure rate isn't even higher.

From sitting on them around the fire, to using them with nothing underneath them to protect them to fat people flip-flopping on them like a fish cuz they too fat to lay down correctly,and cant roll over in place
    They are made to support the normal body's weight lying down only evenly distributed.
    And they're made to have a nice smooth surface underneath.

Everything spare I have goes under my inflatable pad to protect it, in addition to the ground sheet or tent bottom. Rain gear, Maps, sometimes clothing . Avoid sitting on it lay down gently. Usually preceded by clearing the area of rocks sticks tiny pine cones pointy things. Sometimes have to collect Leaf litter to smooth out ground that has tiny embedded rocks.
    Last edited by MuddyWaters; 05-05-2018 at 22:53.