WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Considering Foothills Trail in March

Hello all,

I'm seriously considering a Foothills Trail thru-hike this month, Oconee to Table Rock, and am wondering what those with experience of the trail this time of year might have to say. I've been backpacking for a few years now, my longest being the 40+ mile Pictured Rocks trail in Michigan's upper peninsula and plan to spend four to six nights on the trail.

Some specific questions the FoothillsTrail.org website doesn't seem to address:
    * Is Pickens SC the best location to use for weather forecasts? I've been watching the weather there for a while now, but I often wonder if the weather on the trail might be significantly different due to elevation or...?
    * How are the bugs? I had a terrible time with sand flies (fleas?) on the South Carolina coast years ago in April and I don't want to repeat that experience. And up here in the north in late May, the black flies can be absolutely miserable. Also, I read a report here in the forums of a guy that had a terrible time with spider bites. Are spiders an issue this time of year?
    * I'm assuming the water situation is ok, given the rain the past few months.

It's an 11-hour drive and a hotel stay for me to get there from Michigan, but since I'm retired, I can pretty much pick and choose when to go. All input will be much appreciated.

TIA

Jim

I thru-hiked in December and May.

Pickens was fine for general weather. It's pretty variable with all the ups/downs/and little pockets you find anyway.
    December had zero bugs. I don't recall having an issue in May despite using a hammock with no bug net. I did bring a head net but don't recall wearing it.
    Regarding spiders - no issues for me.