WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Are trekking poles supposed to slip?

Are trekking poles supposed to slip?

I've never used poles before but have been thinking of trying out a pair this season.
    Went to my local outdoor retailer this weekend and was checking out their selection.
    Tried a half dozen pair of different models of Leki's with Speedlocks and every one of them slipped (got shorter) when I pushed down with only moderate force.
    Did the same thing with a half dozen different models of Black Diamond poles with Flicklocks and none of them slipped.

Showed 2 different sales people what was happening and both of them said that this was normal.
    They said that the poles are supposed to slip so that they don't break.
    I wasn't pushing down all that hard and it would seem to me that a pole that collapses when you need it most would be a bad thing.
    Is this normal?
    Has anyone else experienced this?
    How about with brands other than Leki's or Black Diamond?

They shouldn't slip that easily.

I got these Cascade Mountain Tech carbon fiber poles for my daughter-in-law for Christmas after seeing several positive reviews in various places.

After I got them adjusted I put all my weight on them (240ish) and they didn't slip.

I had trouble with my Black Diamond’s collapsing until I realized they weren’t set up correctly. They have to be extended until the silver tab is engaged.

Here’s a video...fast forward to 1:57 to see what I mean.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Dil7mRlrMXM

No. I blame the ****ty new "flip" locks. They must be easier to manufacture or assemble somehow, I can't understand why they're actually better.