WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Default What The Hell!!!

I was quite surprised that as a Veteran I didn't get into a National Park for free or a discounted rate. However I dealt with it, but now this.....

"17 of the most popular national parks could soon become an unaffordable luxury to lower-income Americans if the National Park Service (NPS) implements a pricing system that would raise admission from around $30 per vehicle to $70 per vehicle during peak season. Other proposed fees include $50 per motorcycle, $30 for a person on bike or foot and $75 for an annual pass to a specific park."

$75 for annual pass seems like the way to go

I personally don't see anything wrong with it...Parks are underfunded as it is, why not let the people that go and enjoy it help pickup some of the expenses, while at the same time cut down on the population going to the park for less of an impact.
    Last edited by Alligator; 01-18-2018 at 17:29. Reason: Politics deleted.
    Trail Miles: 4,927.6
    AT Map 1: Complete 2013-2021
    Sheltowee Trace: Complete 2020-2023
    Pinhoti Trail: Complete 2023-2024
    Foothills Trail: 0.0
    AT Map 2: 279.4
    BMT: 52.7
    CDT: 85.4

Journal Entries

Seems pretty steep, especially if that $75 annual pass is only for one park. I'm soooooo glad the citizens of TN/NC thought ahead to prevent that sort of thing from happening to the Smokies.

When you get old enough, buy a lifetime senior pass. It'll save you some money.
    "It goes to show you never can tell." - Charles Edward Anderson Berry

Quote Originally Posted by Old Grouse View Post
    When you get old enough, buy a lifetime senior pass. It'll save you some money.
    Uh, uh. It's now $80. I bought mine last year before the prices went up. The senior pass cost $10 then. Nothing is cheap anymore except the air we breathe