WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Default Alcohol Stove Discussion (technical info heavy post)

I have been using alcohol stoves for 17 years and I have always found them light and efficient in practically any condition. There has been a lot of info scattered about in different threads and I thought I would start a thread instead of hijacking multiple ones.

My alcohol stove set up:

stove (jetted stove made of small sized soda cans) - 8 grams
    pot stand (chicken wire pot stand with every extra gram trimmed off) - 7 grams
    windscreen (beer can screens that look damn cool) - 8 grams
    heat shield (small piece of folded aluminum foil to protect the ground and reflect back heat) .5 grams
    23.5 grams total

my alcohol stove efficiency:

boil time for 2 cups of water - 6 minutes
    volume of alcohol needed for 2 cups of water - .6 oz
    flame out for .6 oz of alcohol - 9 minutes
    weight of 1 oz of alcohol - .78 oz

Weight calculations for X number of days: (number of days * times cooked a day * alcohol needed to boil 2 cups of water * .78 oz) + stove weight + fuel bottle weight

I only cook 1 time per day so the following calculations reflect that. Also, anything less than a 5 day trip I could use a smaller vessel and cut weight, but I will ignore that weight savings for ease of calculations

2 dinner trip (weekend trip):

amount of alcohol needed - 1.2 oz
    fuel weight - .936 oz
    fuel weight+fuel vessel weight - 1.936 oz
    fuel weight+fuel vessel weight+stove kit - 2.936 oz

5 dinner trip (about 75 miles on the AT):

amount of alcohol needed - 3 oz
    fuel weight - 2.34 oz
    fuel weight+fuel vessel weight - 3.34 oz
    fuel weight+fuel vessel weight+stove kit - 4.34 oz (about the weight of an empty canister stove canister)