WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Cook Kit Storage Question

I'm fairly new at formal hiking and overnight stays. Most of the commercially sold cook kits using iso and the ones people put together show storing the iso canisters inside the cook pot. Does that pose any health risks (iso leaking and contaminating the cook pot)? Probably obsessive/compulsive on my part, but I've always carried the fuel canister in an external separate pouch. What are your thoughts?

I highly doubt it would affect anything. It is a gas so if it did leak, it should evaporate, right? I don't think it is anything to worry about.

I agree. No problem carrying it inside the cook pot.

One important thing, however, is to ALWAYS use the little plastic cap that covers the canister's threads and Lindal valve. A tiny bit of dirt or debris in there can really mess up your stove.

Other than that, store it where you want.

I use a bandanna laid flat, then bit lighter, then fuel canister set into bottom of pot. Fold two wings of bandanna in and set the microrocket folding the other two wings to cover it. Lid on. Collapsible S2S. Cup over it and everything 8nto the toaks orange bag. I have a spare bandanna to swap on laundry or last day of trip. I do this because of moisture in the pot that rusted the canister between trips and I hate the “clanking” of metal when hiking. Now that is an obsessive/compulsive post!
    "gbolt" on the Trail

I am Third

We are here to help one another along life's journey. Keep the Faith!

YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCik...NPHW7vu3vhRBGA

Quote Originally Posted by cmoulder View Post
    I agree. No problem carrying it inside the cook pot.