WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default UL First Aid/Hygiene Kit

Hey all,
    What do you carry in your first aid/hygiene kits?
    Mine still floats around 8oz including carrying case.

That includes the following (from memory)
    1. Tampons
    2. travel size hand sanitizer
    3. meds (advil, allergy, immodium, migraine meds)
    4. Small sewing kit
    5. moleskin
    6. med tape
    7. Antibiotic cream
    8. bug spray (prob can ditch this, not sure how helpful it is anyway, honestly)
    9. cuben fiber tape
    10. couple expandable TP/paper towel tabs
    11. compass
    12. ear plugs
    13. mini toothbrush and toothpaste
    14. travel size sunscreen

Looking for ideas about what to cut... that said, I'm a nurse and tend to be overprepared for emergencies, so I'm having a hard time removing anything from my kit. I know, we pack our fears..

Thanks!
    Last edited by lilbear; 11-02-2017 at 18:39.

Images

I'm around 8 oz. as well with the ibuprofen added in:

Hygiene - Total weight= 7.8
    Toob Toothbrush - 1.4
    Mirror - 1.4 in Sack
    Floss - 0.2
    Hand Sanitizer - 1.6
    Deuce of Spades - 0.6
    AMK .3 First Aid Kit - 2.6
    Kit contains:
    Bandage Materials4 - Bandage, Adhesive, Fabric, 1" x 3"
    2 - Bandage, Adhesive, Fabric, Knuckle
    2 - Bandage, Butterfly Closure
    3 - Dressing, Gauze, Sterile, 2" x 2", Pkg./2
    2 - Safety Pins
    Blister / Burn1 - Moleskin, Pre-Cut & Shaped (11 pieces)
    Instrument 1 - Splinter Picker/Tick Remover Forceps
    Medication2 - After Bite Wipe
    2 - Antihistamine (Diphenhydramine 25 mg)
    2 - Ibuprofen (200 mg), Pkg./2
    Wound Care3 - Antiseptic Wipe
    2 - Alcohol Swab
    2 - Triple Antibiotic Ointment, Single Use

Last edited by Mountain Wildman; 11-02-2017 at 19:42.