WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default 25g canister stove, first impressions

25 gram canister stove, the BRS 3000.
    Ok, this topic has been covered before but I just had to chime in.
    sub $20 sub 1 ounce stove... how did they do it?
    Man this thing is TINY!!! Don't let the size fool ya though it boils water within seconds of larger stoves.
    i have no personal experience of how long these will last, it is definitely more delicate than my Optimus crux, however the "google search" reviews are pretty positive.

In my job I work closely with 3 engineers and the opinion was unanimous that it would be impossible to make a stove like this in the US and sell it for such a low price; they even shook their heads in disbelief when I told em what I paid for it shipped to my door.

Here are some pics for size comparison, yea it's that tiny!
    IMG_2848.JPGIMG_2852.JPGIMG_2854.JPGIMG_2851.JPG

Journal Entries

Quote Originally Posted by poolskaterx View Post
    In my job I work closely with 3 engineers and the opinion was unanimous that it would be impossible to make a stove like this in the US and sell it for such a low price; they even shook their heads in disbelief when I told em what I paid for it shipped to my door.
    I paid $12 shipped for mine......from china......several yrs ago when first came out and they were reviewed an ok'd by BPL stove expert. Evaluating CO , etc since people use in semi-enclosed vestibules.

To be mfg in us woukd require UL certification most likely, adding layer of cost.
    Some people got theirs for $10 then

You wont. Find anyone in US willing to ship such a thing for less than several dollars. Even tough postage is .50 first class in small paded encelope, or less bulk rate. People in us try to eek every cent out of you on every chance.