WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default sleeping pad cover for quilt?

I have a 20 degree quilt I'm gonna use this fall and was wondering what you guys use on the pad. It seems that will be very uncomfortable on the skin if you dont have a shirt on.
    Thanks

Images

I always sleep in a sleeping bag liner with my sleeping bag splayed open and over me like a quilt. Solves the issue you mention and keeps my sleeping bag cleaner.

http://www.seatosummitusa.com/travel...ng-bag-liners/

Images

I concur. Either I am in my sleeping bag liner or my sleeping bag is in the liner. Sleeping bag liners are the way to go.

Sent from my SGH-I337 using Tapatalk

Journal Entries

Quote Originally Posted by stilllife View Post
    I have a 20 degree quilt I'm gonna use this fall and was wondering what you guys use on the pad. It seems that will be very uncomfortable on the skin if you dont have a shirt on.
    Thanks
    Why wouldnt you have a shirt on?

I prefer to wear a baselayer. Don't want to be in a liner. Defeats the purpose of a quilt.

Leonidas

If it is 20*, I would imagine I would have a shirt on. Regardless, I wear at least a merino t-shirt and shorts when I use my 40* quilt. I believe BA makes pad covers for the purpose you have mentioned though.
    AT: 695.7 mi
    Benton MacKaye Trail '20
    Pinhoti Trail '18-19'
    @leonidasonthetrail https://www.youtube.com/c/LeonidasontheTrail

Images

Quote Originally Posted by theinfamousj View Post
    I concur. Either I am in my sleeping bag liner or my sleeping bag is in the liner. Sleeping bag liners are the way to go.

Correction: Or my sleeping PAD is in the sleeping bag liner.

Quote Originally Posted by Odd Man Out View Post
    I prefer to wear a baselayer. Don't want to be in a liner. Defeats the purpose of a quilt.
    Explain? They don't seem mutually exclusive.