WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: First aid kit

Default First aid kit

Hi guys,

I am a newbie from Australia and I decided to train myself up here in Australia before doing the AT.

At this stage I am getting all prepared for my first big hike and was wondering, what you take with you in your First Aid Kit?
    Obviously you will need the essentials, but it should not become too big and bulky either.

Any tips and hints?

Journal Entries

needle
    unwaxed dental floss - 6 ft
    tweezers
    6 ft duct tape
    couple bandaids
    couple little bandaids
    gauze pad
    triple antibiotic packets x 2
    alcohol wipe x 2
    ibuprofen x 30
    immodium x 3 days
    benadryl x 1 day

Ibuprofen and lots of it.

Hi Sunny, I carry

Alcohol wipes, individual packs (lots)
    Assorted size bandaids
    Tribiotic packs
    Steri-strips
    Very small Wound Seal packet
    Duct tape (wrapped around my hiking poles)
    2 sizes of gauze pads (regular cleans better than the non-stick type)
    Large safety pins (used with bandanna, etc. to make an arm sling or stabilize an ankle/knee)
    Bug Sting Relief wipes
    Tick removal tool
    20 gauge sterile piercing needles (yup, sterile, light, and pops a blister great!)

Small Swiss Army knife with scissors (scissors are very useful)

Also, Motrin (pain, inflammation, fever reduction), very small bottle of eye drops, and whatever personal meds your body needs.

The amount I carry depends on how long l'm out for. I figure the above along with a bandanna to cut up will take care of blisters, cuts, sprains, and small breaks. Anything bigger there's always someone coming down the AT who can help. Up North on the AT and in other remote areas I carry an InReach Explorer GPS communicator.