WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Thread: tents???

Default tents???

There are two tent options that I am looking at. SMD Lunar Solo and the Big Agnus Fly Creek HV UL 2. I really would prefer a trekking poles style tent like the SMD. I am a college student who doesn't have a lot of money. Example I can't afford the Zpacks Duplex which is my top option. Any suggestions are welcome.

Garlic
    Images

I've come to enjoy the simplicity (and low cost) of a single-wall tent without tent poles.

Tarptent has a good reputation and good line of products, too.

Check out TarpTent for sure. I have a Notch and used it until I got my Duplex. Love both.

I just picked up a Nemo hornet 2P. Under 2lbs and has double side entry. I purchased for trips with my gf. I went with this over the fly creek after much research.

If money is tight you might consider Ray Jardine's tarp and net tent kits. On solo trips I use this set up. You can use hiking poles (or not) to set up the tarp . I leave the net tent home when bugs are few. Total cost is around $160

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Leonidas

After handling a couple SMD tents, they seem very close to the Zpacks tents. The obvious difference being the materials used. I personally would use the SMD over the BA unless you want semi-freestanding. The SMD's can be had fairly cheap when they have the sil-nylon available and they come up used on here fairly often.

YMMV
    AT: 695.7 mi
    Benton MacKaye Trail '20
    Pinhoti Trail '18-19'
    @leonidasonthetrail https://www.youtube.com/c/LeonidasontheTrail

Images

Look at LightHeartGear tents too.

Follow WhiteBlaze Gear For Sale like a hawk.
    Place your own Want To Buy Gear request at WhiteBlaze.
    I too am a very pleased and satisfied TarpTent StratoSpire 1 owner.
    Wayne

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk