WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Permethrin

Question Permethrin

Howdy,

So I just got a bottle of permethrin, which I've never used before, and the number/length of the warnings is somewhat troubling.

It must have at least half a dozen warnings to avoid contact with skin, plus it's toxic to other stuff like bees by direct or indirect contact.

Are these warnings overkill, or is this dangerous to contact?

I'm thinking about sweeping my concrete garage floor and applying it there (so it doesn't get on my grass and kill any bumblebees) with long pants, long sleeves and a latex glove. Thoughts?

I'll be treating socks, pants, and shirts- does anyone treat their shoes? How about tent? Backpack?

Thanks.

Be sure to keep it away from cats as well.

I haven't used it yet, but I've read a little. Best to exercise caution according to the labeling I'm thinking

I've used about everything for noseeums and currently will take out a bottle of picaridin cream for use on skin in camp. Seems better than permithrin which is a clothing-only treatment---advised to not contact with skin.

Mammals break down permethrin. It becomes non-toxic on contact with skin. Permethrin is a non-persistant pesticide. It breaks down pretty quickly when exposed to sunlight.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Permethrin

AT 2012

not sure if this will be a "is permethrin a good idea" thread or "is it safe to use" thread. On the good idea subject, it is wonderfully effective against ticks, which are not looking for exposed skin, and are awfully good at bypassing sprayed deet-type repellent unless heavily and widely applied. On the safe to use subject, by all means, careful is good. I use an organic vapor respirator and spray it on my clothes on a brick patio. I wouldn't hike without permithrin treated clothing.
    Lazarus

Images