WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Filter + water purification?

I'm relatively new to backpacking so forgive me if this is a dumb question, but I'm wondering if anyone uses a water filter AND water purification drops or tablets.

The trips I've been on so far I've used a Sawyer Mini and that's worked fine. However I know there are things it cannot remove from the water. I've been considering using Aqua Mira tabs along with the filter. Does anyone else do this, or is this just unnecessary overkill?

Overkill. The Mini will take everything but a virus and viruses aren't a particular issue. Why ruin the taste of your perfectly good spring water?

Images

We watched multiple Sawyer filters (including ours) get ruined by the freezing in the extreme cold of the Smokies last week.

The guy with a Steri-pen had no issues...Our new Steri-pen is waiting at a post office just up the trail.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
    “He is richest who is content with the least, for content is the wealth of nature.” –Socrates

You do have to take care of them. You can't let them freeze. Doesn't hurt to have a backup be it tablets or a stri-pen but it's not a failing of the Sawyer that it froze.

GSMNP 900 Miler
    Journal Entries
    Images

Quote Originally Posted by Engine View Post
    We watched multiple Sawyer filters (including ours) get ruined by the freezing in the extreme cold of the Smokies last week.

The guy with a Steri-pen had no issues...Our new Steri-pen is waiting at a post office just up the trail.

Can you elaborate on how you knew your Sawyers were ruined"?