WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Trekking poles

Default Trekking poles

Hello I'm new to whiteblaze. So if this has been posted before you'll have to forgive me. What are the strongest, collapsing trekking poles on the market. Lighter is preferred but I'll sacrifice weight for durability and strength in a heart beat.

Sorry just noticed I started this under tarps. Not sure how that happened

Both Black Diamond and Leki make some pole models that are quite stout and designed for 4-season use. The strongest poles would probably be a pair of collapsible back-country ski poles like the Rossignol BC 100's. They only collapse in two parts instead of three and are definitely stouter than any trekking poles I've used.

I would probably go with one of the Black Diamond Trail Pro models or one of Leki modes that isn't "lite". I would also go with aluminum, not because carbon is weaker, which pound-for-pound it is not, but because most carbon poles are built to be as light as possible and thus have a reputation of being more breakable, whereas aluminum will bend and can be bent back to some extent and continue being used.

Also, for what it's worth, I haven't ever owned a trekking pole that I haven't bent including all of the poles listed above. However, in every case, they were able to be straightened across me knee and continued to be used, or in the case of the BC 100's, they worked fine with the bent tip until I broke it trying to straighten it at the end of the season, and Rossi replaced the pair of poles at no charge.
    I'm not lost. I'm exploring.

Quote Originally Posted by nsherry61 View Post