WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Shenandoah in October experiences

I'm planning a two week section from Harper's Ferry to Rockfish Gap this coming October. Although I know I can (and have) looked online for information on weather & temp averages, I'm hoping some with experience in the Shenandoah at this time of year could share their experiences and observations of the weather (and anything else, for that matter.)

I have a WM 25* Sycamore, and plan on using light 150wt woolies (along with socks and fleece cap.) This is a very cozy set up for me into November here in Indiana, but I have no experience with mid-late autumn in the mountains.

Thanks for any information or guidance.
    fortis fortuna adjuvat

I love Shenandoah in the mid to late fall. Wonderful time to be there. Stunning fall colors, apples on the old trees, fewer people, good weather, what's not to love? The first nasty winter storm usually hits around Thanksgiving.

Images

Mid October is peak leaf peeper time, so there will plenty of people in the park, but most will be in their cars only pulling off at overlooks and waysides. The weather will be great for hiking, your bag should be fine. Here's a link to the facilities schedule: https://www.nps.gov/shen/planyourvis...g-schedule.htm

Quote Originally Posted by jimmyjam View Post
    Mid October is peak leaf peeper time, so there will plenty of people in the park, but most will be in their cars only pulling off at overlooks and waysides.
    There are a lot of day hikers on weekends, but most are doing circuits and a few popular trails rather than point to point on the AT. Might be worth arranging your trip to not be in the most popular central section (between US 33 and US 211) on the weekend, but wouldn't be a big deal if you can't.

Thanks for the replies.