Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Thread: Danger Hype

Default Danger Hype

Hello all!

Just dropping by to get a question answered. I have hiked the CT/AT, Easy peasy trails. NO troubles no planning.

Now my question is how much do other hikers Hype up the danger? Is it actually dangerous or is it just difficult? Simply Curious about how much planning really needs to be done to complete the trail.

It depends on the hiker and their experience level.

ive been hiking for 10 years. I bought a pack of cigarettes and got on the AT last year. I did a little more planning on the CT solely because it was my first thru. My thoughts are if i encounter something i deem dangerous, i can always turn around and walk south.

CDT - 2013, PCT - 2009, AT - 1300 miles done burger's Avatar

There are a few dangers. In the desert you have the potential for dehydration or heatstroke/exhaustion. Those are pretty easily managed with an umbrella, good water planning, daytime siestas, appropriate clothing, etc. I can recall a few rescues due to heat/water issues in recent years but not any deaths (that doesn't mean there weren't any).

In the Sierra (or the Cascades if you're SOBO), you have snow, swollen streams, altitude sickness, and navigation issues. A small number of previous hikers have died on the trail. A number of others have been injured to varying degrees. But there has not been a big snow year like this year since the number of hikers on the PCT exploded, so I would not take comfort in the relatively small number of deaths previously. The risks are real and you should get appropriate gear (ice axe, maybe a traction device) and learn how to use them. Learn proper stream crossing techniques, too.

Getting out as much as I can..which is never enough. :) Mags's Avatar

Too many people make everything #EPIC.

Working on electrical equipment can be dangerous too without proper tools, planning, and knowledge.