WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Default Proposed pipe line

Just came across this....rather worrying.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/...0b3ddfd8d265e?

I work in the oil and gas industry, not the company proposing this line or the state subject to it- but I work the whole state of North Carolina. While I am obviously pro pipelines, I believe there are better routes for this line than the current one they have laid out.

However, if the fear most people have of this line being put in the ground is the chance of having leaks then they need to reevaluate their position. Would they rather it be done by older pipelines currently in the ground? That only increases the risk of a leak. Would they rather it be done by rail? There's a laugh. Pipelines are the safest, most environmentally friendly means of transporting the oil and gas in the world, that's a fact, not an opinion.

While that 60 foot Right Of Way gap in the trees will be an eye sore, you know what would be more of an eye sore? Not having that Right Of Way and having a leak- imagine the damage they would cause getting back there in an emergency situation to repair that leak.

I've seen many many people that are against this pipeline- although I have yet to see anyone turn their heater(s) off in the winter or not fill their vehicle up when they need gas. Yet- every single person cries to us when their gas is not working or their isn't gas at the stations to fill up there cars.

There's a lot to consider besides the 60 feet width of eye pain you will be subjected to.

Kind of confusing in that story - the text talks about "crossing" the forest but the drawing makes it look like it is wandering all over the place.