WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Anyone else from the midwest area?

Illinois here, I have been doing shakedown/break-in hikes in Michigan just about every weekend and wondered if anyone else in my area was preparing for 2017.

Alas, don't have time to thru hike, but I am from MI. Where are you doing your shake down hikes?

West central Indiana

I hike the NCT/Manistee River Trail loop a few times a year; however, I think nothing helps as much as climbing dune stairs for hours with a full pack....

Im in southern illinois. metropolis / paducah area. training myself for the AT now. Im a firefighter, and carry 75 pounds alot in structure fires, so my back and upper body are strong.....buuuuutttt thats not the AT, and il need to endure in different ways on AT im sure. so im physical training any way.

From my limited A.T. experience (not a thru-hiker - but have done one 55 mile hike, five 100+ mile hikes, and one 200+ mile hike), I find I need to develop my CLIMBING muscles...And, the only way to do that in MI's lower peninsula flat-land is to do stair climbing. Unfortunately, that only trains my muscles and doesn't train my feet. My feet suffer a bit each year adjusting to the rocky-ness of the A.T. Thankfully, I have not had a single blister since switching to trail runners two years ago. ...

Yet, I sure had blisters before (see link below...)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bzp...ew?usp=sharing
    Last edited by shelb; 10-20-2016 at 00:08. Reason: Include picture....

I mainly hike the NCT/MRT loop. Closest thing I could find near me but if anyone has other ideas I'm open to other options.

Journal Entries
    Images

I am but I'm also only about 90 minutes from Colorado