WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    Journal Entries

Default Bunch of hiking physical training resources(Former Infantryman & PT) Q&A

I'm starting a NOBO thru in May and have been creating some physical training resources for the AT.

My background: 6 years US Army Infantry, NASM certified personal trainer, CFL1, and I've owned a CrossFit gym and have spent about 2,000 hours personally training clients.

Caveat: I have never done a thru-hike. I have had lots of outdoor experience and we've done some fairly lengthy rucks in the Army, the worst of which was a 12 mile EIB qualifier where my ruck weighed 68lbs not counting my weapon, FLCK vest, or helmet.

Here's a three-month detailed training plan I put together. It's pretty intensive and not designed for a beginner. For someone completely new to fitness I would highly recommend taking some sessions with a personal trainer and learn how to properly perform everything and have them build you a program tailored to your fitness level before jumping into any program found online. .

Here's a quick list of 7 training tip for anyone prepping for the AT.
    If you don't want to go to the gym I really recommend buying a kettlebell. You can get them really cheaply and with FREE shipping on Amazon. Best fitness investment you can make. If you just had a KB and did a few sets of goblet squats and KB swings everyday for a few months you'd be in pretty great shape for hiking the AT.

I've been transitioning from a pure strength program into a hybrid strength/conditioning with a lot more high rep workouts. Just did a brutal 100 rep of squats with 80kg yesterday. Can barely walk today lol. Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GysdiJrHhnI